Page 1 of 1

how to use Cyclos for a time bank

Posted: Wed Nov 14, 2012 3:59 pm
by Exchange and Change
I am a member of a new skill exchange and we are trying to find our way around the system.
I am struggling to see how the system works for a time / credit exchange. the group give a skill and earn credits, there is no money to put into the system only credits to exchange. I have a question:

How do I create a pot of credits for the administration account? the core group will be giving there time to run the group and carry out admin tasks therefore we need a pot of credits to take our payments from (community credits)? we will be taking 1 credit per month from each member to keep this stocked in future. I have searched the forum and looked for an account manual but I can only find the help manual and it doesn't explain things.

Re: how to use Cyclos for a time bank

Posted: Thu Nov 15, 2012 9:56 am
by Stuart
I would think you would make a single bulk payment from your "debit" account to your "admin" account from which you would then pay out monthly to the individuals - The debit account will therefore always be in negative balance of the total hours in the system > the positive balance reflected in each user account and the Community credit account.

I think this is how you would set this up ... I'm no expert though

Re: how to use Cyclos for a time bank

Posted: Thu Nov 15, 2012 11:10 am
by Exchange and Change
I am logged in as administrator and I can't find how to make a payment into the system. there doesnt seem to be a system payment button anywhere for me to transfer the credits in. I have created a debit account but the balance says zero and I cant even make a loan from one system account into another.

I have tried permissions and under system payments I have allowed all permissions.

I created a new admin and tried to log in thinking that the interface may be different and I could make payments but this is'nt the case.

Re: how to use Cyclos for a time bank

Posted: Thu Nov 15, 2012 11:31 am
by Stuart
You will find the function under menu (logged in as an admin with correct permissions)

Prior to the next step you will have to have set up the basic system accounts you will require Debit ; Community and Member accounts

Account > System Payments > Transfer between system accounts

I do suggest you spend a lot of time "playing" with some demo data and then set up your environment the way you need it ! There are many variations to achieve what you want

Re: how to use Cyclos for a time bank

Posted: Thu Nov 15, 2012 12:35 pm
by Exchange and Change
I have looked at every button / function on the left hand side and there is no system payment button.

Re: how to use Cyclos for a time bank

Posted: Fri Nov 16, 2012 9:50 am
by Stuart
You must first set up your accounts and payment methods - The wiki gives a full explanation of this : Once you have set up your payments options the "button" will show up under Account > System Payments