URL redirect does not work (urgent)

Discussion space for community admins

Moderators: hugo, alexandre, rmvanarkel

Post Reply
Joan
Posts: 197
Joined: Thu Jan 09, 2014 1:18 pm
Location: Barcelona
Contact:

URL redirect does not work (urgent)

Post by Joan » Mon May 29, 2017 7:37 am

Hi,
Some days ago is not possible access to our community by http://www.ecotracte.org.
By original URL running OK -> https://communities.cyclos.org/ecotracte
We've consulted our domain provider and says that everything is correct.
Has Cyclos made any changes?
Now we have to pay Cyclos for our redirection to continue working?
We expect a prompt response, as our community is inaccessible to the immense majority of users.
Kind regards.

admin
Site Admin
Posts: 1413
Joined: Mon Jan 24, 2005 10:31 am

Re: URL redirect does not work (urgent)

Post by admin » Mon May 29, 2017 11:00 am

Hi,

It seems that you load Cyclos in a frame. Since the latest Cyclos version this will not work any more for security reasons.
Please bear in mind that the page that explains how configure a domain for your community states very clearly how it should be done.
See: http://www.cyclos.org/cyclos4communities/domain/
Important: A simple URL redirect will not work. You really need to define a CNAME record as described above at step 2b. You can check if your domain is pointing to the correct address by performing a PING (in a terminal or at the command line) to your domain. The PING to your domain should return the same IP address as a PING to the URL communities.cyclos.org. If this is not the case please do not submit the domain request

Step 3: commit new domain to us and make donation
Note: ONLY proceed with this step if you have checked that your domain is successfully pointing to the Cyclos community server (see comment directly above).
The way forward is to proceed with a domain request as explained at the page: http://www.cyclos.org/cyclos4communities/domain/

Joan
Posts: 197
Joined: Thu Jan 09, 2014 1:18 pm
Location: Barcelona
Contact:

Re: URL redirect does not work (urgent)

Post by Joan » Wed Jun 07, 2017 8:22 am

Hi,
I followed yours instructions and now http://www.ecotracte.org works OK, but ecotracte.org (without www) not work, only shows a white page.
Before, ecotracte.org it had always worked OK.
We've consulted our domain provider and says that everything is correct.
Can solve it?
Many thanks!

Post Reply