Card features

Discussion space for community admins

Moderators: hugo, alexandre, rmvanarkel

rhornig

Card features

Post by rhornig » Sun Aug 24, 2014 9:51 am

Hello,

I'm fairly new to Cyclos (installed on my local machine and playing around with it currently). I'm trying to chart a roadmap for our team to create a LETS community in Q4 this year (some 500 members so far). Cyclos 4.2 covers almost everything we may need except we need card swiping/POS functions (in a mobile app).

My understanding is that card module is targeted for cyclos 4.3 so it may worth to wait and see what it brings, but I would love to have some feedback whether the following will be feasible in 4.3 (otherwise I have to look into the APIs a bit deeper to figure out whether we can implement it ourselves)

- We have issued plastic cards to all community members that have a card number and a QR code (encoding the same card number) printed on it.
- We need a mobile POS application (Android/iOS or possibly just a plain webapp) that allows charging the member with or without entering a PIN (configurable) by just scanning the card's QR code.
- Optionally it would be great to have the QR scanning facility also for charging up the cards, but this is not a must as we can enter the card numbers manually too, during the charge up.

1. Will this be possible with the upcoming 4.3 version?
2. If yes, do you see any reason why this cannot be run on communities.cyclos.org? (if it needs some kind of configuration that is not possible onthe community hosting, then I have to start planning where we want to host our instance).

Thanks a lot for your insights, Rudolf

admin
Site Admin

Re: Card features

Post by admin » Mon Aug 25, 2014 8:55 am

Hi,

At this moment the POS module is still in the design phase. The card module depends on the budget we have and requirements of partners.
In about a month we will be able to give a precise specification of the card module.