translation per network available

Any communication concerning the translations of the Cyclos 4 version

Moderators: hugo, alexandre, rmvanarkel

Post Reply
thomasw
Posts: 143
Joined: Tue Sep 19, 2006 8:53 am
Location: Traunstein, Bavaria, Germany
Contact:

translation per network available

Post by thomasw » Tue Mar 08, 2016 7:22 pm

Hi Hugo & Team-Members,

one question about translation stuff:

I tried to adapt some phrases in langauge "DE_de" for a specific network.
Another network uses different phrases for the same thing.
(e.g.: a) uses marketplace, while b) uses advs; or a) uses price while b) uses effort)

I could imagine to way to solve it:
a) i searched for "application translation" on network level; it exists only on global level, or did i miss a setting for it?
b) i tried to import / create a new language; and discovered i even cannot export a language as a whole.

Of course i could use a exisiting language and overwrite it with the german texts on server level.

What would you suggest?

Most beautiful way would be to have translation adaptions also on network level.

Thank you,
Sam
--
Thomas Sam Wittich
bueffelSOFT
--
Do it, but do it well!

mitra
Posts: 13
Joined: Fri Mar 18, 2016 10:10 am

Re: translation per network available

Post by mitra » Fri Mar 18, 2016 10:50 am

Hi Sam,
If you are logged in as an administrator, go to system] system configuration] Languages
select New
Give a name to your language(dialect),e.g. GermanSubset and choose a parent language, for instance German.
So the German language is the template, and you can change words for your GermanSubset.

Now we have to make GermanSubset the default language of your network:
Go to system]system configuration]configuration] default for <YourNetworkname>
Go to menu-item Localization] default language , and choose GermanSubset or whatever name you used.
Then go to content] Content management] Application translation and Data translation
you can change/translate some words/strings, e.g. find all words 'price' and translate that to 'effort'.

Regards,
Mitra.

thomasw
Posts: 143
Joined: Tue Sep 19, 2006 8:53 am
Location: Traunstein, Bavaria, Germany
Contact:

Re: translation per network available

Post by thomasw » Fri May 27, 2016 7:08 am

Hi Mitra,

thank you, works exelent!

May you please point out the difference between using a parent language vs using a template language as the language inheriting from?

Thank you,
Thomas
--
Thomas Sam Wittich
bueffelSOFT
--
Do it, but do it well!

Post Reply