to clean up extraneous address

Any issue about installation and configuration of the Cyclos software

Moderators: hugo, alexandre, rmvanarkel

Post Reply
CoraDyce
Posts: 4
Joined: Fri May 10, 2013 3:43 pm

to clean up extraneous address

Post by CoraDyce » Tue Jul 23, 2013 5:25 pm

"www.sitename.com/8080/cyclos/do/login"

I would like for it to just be "www.sitename.com"

I am using Tomcat. I read somewhere to install the entire folder to the tomcat webapps directory, however that no longer works. Cyclos only runs when the "web" folder is extracted to tomcat webapps directory and changed name to "cyclos".

How may i clean up the address?

Thank you.

alexandre
Posts: 837
Joined: Wed Sep 06, 2006 9:06 am

Re: to clean up extraneous address

Post by alexandre » Tue Jul 23, 2013 6:34 pm

Hi,

You can copy all content of the cyclos folder to the folder webapps/ROOT

Then on your server.xml change the tomcat port from 8080 to 80

This way you will have www.sitename.com as a cyclos instance.

Regards
Alexandre Caurrinhos
Cyclos development team.

CoraDyce
Posts: 4
Joined: Fri May 10, 2013 3:43 pm

Re: to clean up extraneous address

Post by CoraDyce » Tue Jul 23, 2013 7:17 pm

Hey, thanks for quick response!

I tried what you said, I moved the cyclos folder from Tomcat/webapps (previously cyclos/web directory) to Tomcat/webapps/ROOT

Then I found the server.xml in Tomcat/conf

I changed 8080 to 80 in the server.xml

Still only thing appearing is my Apache 2 Test Page.

Any help? Am using Centos.

alexandre
Posts: 837
Joined: Wed Sep 06, 2006 9:06 am

Re: to clean up extraneous address

Post by alexandre » Tue Jul 23, 2013 7:25 pm

HI,

Seems that you already have a apache server running on port 80 so you cannot put your tomcat to run on that port.

To have both server running without the use of 8080 you will need a module for apache to integrate with tomcat, here an example http://httpd.apache.org/docs/2.2/mod/mod_proxy_ajp.html

But if you don´t need the apache you can just shutdown apache and up the tomcat on port 80.

Regarding the folders you need to move only the content o fteh cyclos folder to ROOT folder. So you will have webapps/ROOT/cyclosfiles not webapps/ROOT/cyclos/cyclosfiles.

Regards.
Alexandre Caurrinhos
Cyclos development team.

CoraDyce
Posts: 4
Joined: Fri May 10, 2013 3:43 pm

Re: to clean up extraneous address

Post by CoraDyce » Wed Jul 24, 2013 2:40 am

I was able to copy everything from Cyclos_install/web/ into Tomcat/webapps/ROOT

it did not work (with server.xml settings as specified)

Then I cleared everything extraneous from the ROOT directory so ONLY the cyclos_install/web/ files were in it

Great success!!

Thank you.


p.s. any word on favicon?

Post Reply