Emulator screen goes black after running project

Any issue about installation and configuration of the Cyclos software

Moderators: hugo, alexandre, rmvanarkel

Post Reply
mattstone
Posts: 3
Joined: Mon Oct 22, 2012 9:07 am

Emulator screen goes black after running project

Post by mattstone » Wed Nov 28, 2012 4:23 am

Hi everyone,

I downloaded the source file of cyclos mobile edition and did the structures for editing the code in Eclipse as described in wiki step by step, but when I tried to run the project as an Android Application after launching an emulator "cylcos" term appears on top of the page and then the screen goes BLACK! I don't know what exactly makes this issue while there is no error even warning in my project at runtime.

Cyclos: 3.7_RC1
Operation system: Windows 7
Java: 1.7.0_07
Tomcat: 6.0
Eclipse: Helios Service Release 2
And following lines are console log:

Code: Select all

[2012-11-28 10:48:57 - cyclos3_mobile_android] Android Launch!
[2012-11-28 10:48:57 - cyclos3_mobile_android] adb is running normally.
[2012-11-28 10:48:57 - cyclos3_mobile_android] Performing nl.strohalm.cyclos.mobile.Cyclos3_mobile_androidActivity activity launch
[2012-11-28 10:48:57 - cyclos3_mobile_android] Automatic Target Mode: launching new emulator with compatible AVD 'test'
[2012-11-28 10:48:57 - cyclos3_mobile_android] Launching a new emulator with Virtual Device 'test'
[2012-11-28 10:48:58 - Emulator] emulator: warning: opening audio input failed
[2012-11-28 10:48:58 - Emulator] 
[2012-11-28 10:48:58 - cyclos3_mobile_android] New emulator found: emulator-5554
[2012-11-28 10:48:58 - cyclos3_mobile_android] Waiting for HOME ('android.process.acore') to be launched...
[2012-11-28 10:49:18 - cyclos3_mobile_android] HOME is up on device 'emulator-5554'
[2012-11-28 10:49:18 - cyclos3_mobile_android] Uploading cyclos3_mobile_android.apk onto device 'emulator-5554'
[2012-11-28 10:49:18 - cyclos3_mobile_android] Installing cyclos3_mobile_android.apk...
[2012-11-28 10:49:31 - cyclos3_mobile_android] Success!
[2012-11-28 10:49:31 - cyclos3_mobile_android] Starting activity nl.strohalm.cyclos.mobile.Cyclos3_mobile_androidActivity on device emulator-5554
[2012-11-28 10:49:35 - cyclos3_mobile_android] ActivityManager: Starting: Intent { act=android.intent.action.MAIN cat=[android.intent.category.LAUNCHER] cmp=nl.strohalm.cyclos.mobile/.Cyclos3_mobile_androidActivity }
Any help will be appreciated.

rmvanarkel
Posts: 240
Joined: Tue Oct 05, 2010 1:14 pm

Re: Emulator screen goes black after running project

Post by rmvanarkel » Fri Dec 07, 2012 5:37 pm

Sorry we couldn't reproduce your error. Next week we will try to install it on exactly the same environment as yours. I updated the wiki a bit, maybe it helps you a bit further:
http://www.cyclos.org/wiki/index.php/Mo ... ment_setup

See:
- Install GWT
- Common Eclipse problems

rmvanarkel
Posts: 240
Joined: Tue Oct 05, 2010 1:14 pm

Re: Emulator screen goes black after running project

Post by rmvanarkel » Mon Dec 10, 2012 11:38 am

This could very well solve your problem:
** Quit Cyclos in the emulator by pressing "Esc", in the emulator go to: Settings > Applications > Manage applications > Cyclos > Uninstall.
** Keep the emulator running and go to the project explorer again and go to cyclos3_mobile_android and right click on the project > Run As -> Android Application.
** Now the application should run fine.

We installed eclipse in exactly the same environment as you have (normally we are using Linux) and everything runned fine, so hopefully the tip above will solve your problem.

mattstone
Posts: 3
Joined: Mon Oct 22, 2012 9:07 am

Re: Emulator screen goes black after running project

Post by mattstone » Tue Dec 11, 2012 3:22 am

OK, Thanks for reply, I will try your solution and inform you.

mattstone
Posts: 3
Joined: Mon Oct 22, 2012 9:07 am

Re: Emulator screen goes black after running project

Post by mattstone » Tue Dec 25, 2012 3:23 am

I want to inform you that my problem solved just by checking GWT config in my project.
Thank you

admin
Site Admin
Posts: 1413
Joined: Mon Jan 24, 2005 10:31 am

Re: Emulator screen goes black after running project

Post by admin » Tue Dec 25, 2012 12:24 pm

Good to hear you manage to solve it. Thanks for the update.

oscar.cobar
Posts: 6
Joined: Wed Dec 04, 2013 8:04 am

Re: Emulator screen goes black after running project

Post by oscar.cobar » Thu Jan 16, 2014 12:17 pm

Hi mattstone,

Could you please to explain a little bit which configuration you made?
Because I got same issue and already check almost everything without success. I will appreciate so much.

Post Reply